“Global Lasallian University” Conference at CBU This Week

(Memphis)–Representatives from 12 universities affiliated with the worldwide De La Salle Christian Brothers educational community will convene, either in person or via teleconference, at Christian Brothers University on June 14-16 to discuss plans for developing shared online degree programs and other educational partnerships.

“The overall goal of the meeting is to identify the opportunities for collaboration between our institutions to provide online courses and programs,” said Dr. Neal Jackson, director of graduate engineering at CBU and an organizer of the conference.

Colleges and universities represented at the conference will be La Salle University (Philadelphia, PA), St. Mary’s University of Minnesota (Winona, MN), Lewis University (Romeoville, IL), Manhattan College (New York, NY), College of Santa Fe (Santa Fe, NM), Universidad La Salle Bajio (Leon, Mexico), Universidad La Salle Mexico (Mexico, D.F.), Ecole Catholique D’Arts et Metiers (Lyon, France), Institut Superieur Agricole (Beauvais, France), Groupe ISAIP-ESAIP (Angers, France), Enginyeria i Arquitectura La Salle (Barcelona, Spain), and Christian Brothers University (Memphis).

CBU will launch the first shared program in this “Global Lasallian University” this fall with its Master of Science in Engineering Management (MSEM) program, offering online collaboration with Enginyeria i Arquitectura La Salle in Barcelona. Much of the groundwork for that program has been set up by Dr. Juan Carlos Olabe, professor of electrical engineering at CBU.

Olabe has been actively involved in developing distance education technologies for the past five years. He has been visiting Lasallian universities around the world with the objective of using the Internet and online education to share resources and increase quality and enrollment. The long-range goal is to establish a worldwide Lasallian university, where all Lasallian institutions offer and share online courses and programs.

Founded in 1871 by the Catholic teaching order of De La Salle Christian Brothers, CBU is part of the Lasallian educational network active in 81 countries of the world and in more than 1,000 educational institutions. It is one of seven Lasallian colleges and universities in the United States. ##

This entry was posted in Lasallian, Press Releases.

Comments are closed.