Plans for New Sciences Complex Underway

Architectural Plan of Cooper-Wilson CenterChristian Brothers University is actively engaged in plans for a new Sciences Complex. The expanded Sciences Complex will provide a new three-story building with about 27,000 square feet, located just south of the present Science Center and connected to it. The project also includes plans to renovate the existing Science Center, which has about 37,000 square feet. Estimated total cost for the new complex is $12 million.

The additional space will provide more lab space, more classroom space, and more student spaces. The preliminary plans include space for a student lounge and rooms for the student discipline groups such as Beta Beta Beta (biology), Student Affiliates of the American Chemical Society, Society of Physics Students, and the student chapter of the Mathematical Society of America.

Overhead view of Cooper-Wilson plans“The added space will not upset the intimate and caring nature of our departments, since it will keep faculty offices on the same floor as the labs that those faculty teach in,” said Dr. Johnny Holmes, dean of the School of Sciences

The Plough Foundation has awarded CBU a $2.5 million grant to expand the University’s science facilities, the largest gift of its kind for CBU’s School of Sciences.

“This generous financial commitment will allow the University to further enhance the excellent reputation of our degree programs in the sciences,” said CBU president Brother Vincent Malham. “We are honored to be a partner with the Plough Foundation in providing quality and relevant science education for tomorrow’s leaders.”

“The Plough Foundation’s continued commitment to education as evidenced by this partnership will reap rich dividends for both CBU and the community for years to come,” said Ruth Carr, CBU vice president for advancement. “This is the type of investment that will live on through the positive impact our graduates have on society.”

The present Science Center was built in 1967 and has had several renovations over the years. The School of Sciences was established in 1990 when then Christian Brothers College (CBC) became Christian Brothers University.

CBU offers eight different undergraduate sciences degrees in four departments: biology, chemistry, mathematics and computer science and physics and natural science. A new major in biomedical sciences is being added this fall. Minors in biology, chemistry, computer science, mathematics and physics are also offered.

“With the explosion of science-based careers and workforce shortages, we are thrilled to join with the Plough Foundation to help better prepare our students to meet these challenges and succeed in the future,” said Holmes. “Our students are currently at the top of their programs, but with this added boost to our facilities, we expect nothing but continued growth and success.”

This entry was posted in Press Releases, School of Sciences.

Comments are closed.