CBU Senior First Undergraduate To Win IEEE Scholarship

Amanda Taylor, a Christian Brothers University (CBU) mechanical engineering senior, received the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Reliability Society Scholarship. Taylor has the distinct honor of being the only undergraduate student to ever receive this IEEE scholarship.

Dr. John Ventura, Chair and Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, nominated Taylor for her work within the School of Engineering and her efforts in extracurricular activities including the development of a CBU chapter of Engineers Without Borders. Her role as President of the CBU chapter of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and Vice President of the engineering honor society, Tau Beta Pi, were influential factors in the scholarship evaluation in conjunction with her other academic achievements and letter of evaluation.

Taylor says this $2,000 scholarship, “will take some of the financial burden off of me so that I can continue focusing on my studies.” In the Spring semester, she will be one of three Honors engineering students in a special course that translates reliability concepts into ethical problem solvers. Taylor hopes to use the knowledge from this course with her senior project of a thermoelectric LED light, which will be a key aspect of the Engineers Without Borders project.

The IEEE Reliability Society scholarship is entering its third year. Applicants must be a full time a graduate or senior/ junior undergraduate in an engineering degree program and a member of IEEE. They must have completed at least one course in the field of reliability engineering and be nominated by a faculty member.

For more information about CBU’s School of Engineering, visit http://www.cbu.edu.
To learn more about IEEE, visit http://www.ieee.org/. ###

This entry was posted in Press Releases, School of Engineering.

Comments are closed.