CBU Thespians Install Drama Honor Society

Alpha Zeta Eta chapter of the Alpha Psi Omega theatre honor societyChristian Brother University (CBU) installed the Alpha Zeta Eta chapter of the Alpha Psi Omega theatre honor society on December 7. The charter members, collectively known as the first CBU “cast,” were inducted directly following the installation ceremony.

The cast included President Burton Bridges, Vice President Kenny Latta, Business Manager Lindsay Hanlen, Elizabeth Rosen, Dylan Perry, Russell Brandon, Dustin Perry, Candice Lermusiaux, Catherine Montesi, Megan Kelleher Nuckolls, Chris Ragghianti, Shamus Smisor, Danielle Wright and alumnae Shanta Wilson and Ally Gomez.

Theatre director and faculty advisor, Linda Dinwiddie, remarked that the members work in various areas of the theatre for every production. “When we need chairs painted, off-stage actors gladly go outside to paint. Actors become stage hands. Stage hands become actors. That’s theatre.”

In recent seasons, the CBU Theatre department has presented Antigone, The Jury Room, Rumors and One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest. To complete the 2008-2009 season, CBU will perform Shakespeare’s Comedy of Errors, including a cast of several of the new Alpha Psi Omega members.

Alpha Psi Omega was started in 1925 at Fairmont State College in Virginia. As the largest honor society in America, Alpha Psi Omega has grown to include over 550 casts. Requirements for induction include participation in at least two semesters of theatrical productions, work in various areas of production and a minimum 2.5 GPA.

For more information about the CBU Theatre department, e-mail encore@cbu.edu. ###

This entry was posted in Press Releases, School of Arts, Student Life.

Comments are closed.